Shaders GMS2 shader not working. Please help.

C

cammodore64

I just started playing with shaders and even though my code is exactly like the simple tutorials I'm following, nothing seems to change when I run the program. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Any advice would be a great help.

Here's the fragment shader's code:

varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;

void main() {

vec4 base_col = v_vColor * texture2D(gm_BaseTexture, v_vTexcoord);

gl_FragColor = vec4(base_col.rgb, base_col.a * 0.5);
}

And here's the test object's draw event code:

shader_set(shader0);
draw_self();
shader_reset();

Again, very simple stuff and yet nothing seems to change when ran. The object sprite's "separate texture page" box is checked and color interpolation between pixels has been disabled.

NightFrost

That should be drawing the sprite at 0.5 alpha, so something is off. Have you perhaps turned off alpha blending?

It's not necessary to use seperate texture page in this case. Although this is not the cause of your problem.

There's not enough information here to explain why you wouldn't see any difference between using the shader and not using the shader. I would suggest that, first, you double check that there really isn't any visible difference. Then, check if there is anything else going on in your project that might be interfering with the expected function of this shader. Possible culprits might be certain blending modes, or perhaps drawing multiple instances overlapping in the same spot.

C

cammodore64

It's not necessary to use seperate texture page in this case. Although this is not the cause of your problem.