• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

making punch effect draw_sprite_pos?

F

Furiosposion

have a good day, im new in gml and trying to make punch effect like in the images (it's from a game called Growtopia) as i searched from documents i need to use
Code:
draw_sprite_pos(sprite, subimg, x1, y1, x2, y2, x3, y3, x4, y4, alpha);
for it. but i don't know where to place them and how to calculate it.
and hand sprite's start point is obj_player's x and y, end point is mouse position as i added in images.
any help would make me happy thanks

or how can i draw sprite scretched and rot at same time? and scretch and rot by mouse position

Last edited by a moderator:

2Dcube

I think you can achieve the same effect with image_xscale, image_yscale, and image_angle.
Use x and y scale to make the hand bigger and image_angle to rotate it to the mouse.
For example to get the angle towards mouse
Code:
var angle = point_direction(character.x, character.y, mouse_x, mouse_y);

F

Furiosposion

Code:
image_xscale = mouse_x - obj_player.x;
image_yscale = mouse_y - obj_player.y;

x = obj_player.x;
y = obj_player.y
image_angle = point_direction(obj_player.x, obj_player.y, mouse_x, mouse_y);
i tried this and result was broken, i guess something wrong with scaling

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
It's easy to see what's wrong in your attempt once you realize that 1 in image_xscale and image_yscale corresponds to standard size.
Code:
image_xscale = max(1, point_distance(obj_player.x, obj_player.y, mouse_x, mouse_y)/sprite_width);
x = obj_player.x;
y = obj_player.y;

F

Furiosposion