Does anyone have any tips for coding/ the best way to learn it fast.

J

Jamie Gargrave

Hey,

So I am new to making games and I was wondering if anyone is able to help, Shoot me a discord message Jamie#8739

M

MoncefFennich DZDev

I Have A tip for you
Do A Math In You Mind Then In Your Editor :
Like When Enemy Hit You
Code:
if (place_meeting(x,y,obj_player))
{
with (obj_player)
{
gotHit=true;
if (gotHit) && (!invisible) && (self.damageStg>0)
{
hp=hp-self.damageStg;
invisible=invisibleDur;
}
}else
{
obj_player.gotHit=false;
}

M

MoncefFennich DZDev

Another Tip:
Do A Comment To Understand What This Function/Setting/Math Function Do If You Forget It Or You Want To Share Your Work,You Are Free To Write Your Own Comment
Code:
//In GML This Line Is A Comment.
/*
You Can Do A Multiple Comment Line.
Hi, I Am Another Line!
*/

T

TinyGamesLab

Coding is just about problem solving as it is about the syntax.
Learn the general idea behind variables (and their scope), conditionals and loops.
Then try solving some math problems with the recent acquired knowledge, such as having a variable go from 0 to 10, from 10 to 0, have only the odd numbers between 0 and 50, calculate a area of a circumference, etc...
Then learn about data structure and objects x instances and try showing these values in the screen, maybe changing its position for each new value, etc...
Try watching tutorials about coding on ti YouTube but focus on the ones that teach you how think about it rather than the syntax of a specific function of a specific language. Dont worry if it is not the same coding language, as the basis for coding is the same on most languages even if writing it may be slightly different (variables, contionals, loops, etc...)
I'm actualy very inclined on starting a tutorial series teaching how to code on GMS, but focusing a lot on the problem solving part integrated with the language.

M

MoncefFennich DZDev

GML Is The Easiest Program Language, You Can Learn About It In one WEEK!