GameMaker I need tips in creating a GUI library.

S

StardragonEX

Hello there, I'm new to taking GMS2 seriously for game making and I want to make a Shmup/RPG, but I realized I need a good GUI system for what I have in mind and GML doesn't have gui functions to create buttons, scroll panes, radio buttons, etc., so I want to create a GUI system to do so or use one that is already created, and I would like some tips or library recommendations.

So, I'm wondering if someone knows a good gui system already created that wants to recommend it to me or if someone knows how to create one and could give me some tips in how to create it.

I don't know if I should use GMS2 objects with mouse click events like most people use for buttons and things like that, or only use draw functions, window_mouse_get_x() and window_mouse_get_y() to detect what I'm pressing and build it from the ground up with that.

Last edited by a moderator:

Anixias

I've always created GUIs directly in the Draw GUI event using draw functions and window_mouse_get_* functions. I also store form values such as radios and text fields in the Create event.

If you would like to create a library, I suggest you use scripts that simply store forms and other info in the object calling the script. For example, for a radio creation script, I would simply return a data structure or array of some kind. Then, treat that as a radio field. The first two values in the array could be an x and y to draw the first radio at, followed by the third being the vertical distance between each radio. Next, create a radio_add script that simply appends a label onto the array. I would also suggest appending a fourth value into the array that stores which radio is selected, with it defaulting to -1 (no radio selected).