• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Documentation about extensions (external function) is inconsistent

S

syscall

Hell',

I've finally reached 5 posts, yay! (I can now post links.)
(Keep in mind I am still a noob in GameMaker tech.)
But, I have read a couple of docs pages around external functions and how they work via "extensions".
I would like to point out several minor inconsistencies which I have come across yesterday, in hope that somebody will correct them:
Description said:
Please note that for functions with 4 or more arguments, all of them must be of type ty_real.
"4 or more". OK. So, argCount >= 4: all arguments must be of type double.
Creating Extensions said:
NOTE: If you are creating a Windows dll file and it has more than four arguments, all arguments must be of the same type.
"more than 4". OK. So, argCount > 4: all arguments must be of the same type. Now all could be strings?!

Creating Functions said:
This is limited to a maximum of sixteen arguments, and note that for functions with 4 or more arguments, all of them must be of type double.
It states the same as the first bullet-point above ("4 or more"). It is inconsistent with the bullet-point "more than 4".
Creating Functions said:
Return Type - What the function returns. This can be either a string (text) or a double (real number).
It would be worth mentioning the following (where it is missing): if the function returns no value (void), then a return type you specify is ignored (it does not matter). As it is written on the page below:
Creating Extensions said: