USB drawing pen/pad recomendations?

G

Genolution

Drawing with a mouse is quite akward. I'm wanting to up my game in the art department and was wondering if you needed to spend a lot of money to get a decent one. I'm just a hobbyist and money is always tight. Please share your thoughts, suggestions and experiences because I know nothing.

R

Rukiri

Wacom Bamboo is pretty cheap, but if you can afford it (save up) get the new tablet "not the screen or tablet pcs" you can draw digitally and on paper, it's $399-$550 for the medium and large respectively tho... Ebay is another good source if you want a recent Wacom second hand.

G

Genolution

I see a Monoprice 10"x6.25" for $45 on Amazon. Thats pretty big for the money, has a high sensitivity rating and it has a bunch of customizable buttons. What do you think?

Tsa05

I don't know much about monoprice except the name, but I can vouch for good experiences with Wacom, Huion, and XP-Pen. XP-Pen is a little more than $45, but far less than a Wacom.

G

Genolution

I pulled the trigger on the Monoprice tablet. It's getting good reviews on Amazon and YouTube. I'll give it a couple of weeks and post my thoughts on it. Now I just need to decide if I want to upgrade to studio 2.0. I've tried nearly a dozen drawing programs the last few days and the sprite editor on 1.4 would be perfect for me with all the features I need and none of the clutter except it doesnt have a curved line tool. Or does it and I just cant find it?

Coded Games

I can also recommend the Wacom Bamboo tablet. It is getting a bit old now and mine got completely destroyed playing Osu! Although, if you're just drawing it should work fine.

D

Dave-E

I'm using a Wacom Intuos pro. I liked my old Intuos 4 better- it had small screens next to the buttons that displayed what they were currently set to.

W

Walky

For anyone looking for a good budget tablet: