• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Distribution Big Marketing Questions (Help o.O)

Kezarus

Endless Game Maker
Ok, where should I start? I am trying to answer some marketing questions and I have no idea where to start in some of them. I am a programmer and I am planning a release on July and preparing other games to start production.

So, these are the questions:
  1. Competitors: ok, I think I can get the same game quality/content and price tag on SteamDB and know against whom I am pooled against. Am I right on that?
  2. Market Share: What are the size of the market for the specific genre? For example: "when we talk about Turn-Based games in 2018 customers expent $15M" Where can I find this number?
  3. Customer Acquisition Cost: how much does it cost in marketing to aquire a customer?
  4. Consumer Behavior: how a customer reacts to products(games) and how can I influence his decision;
  5. Business Model: ok, that's easy I think. Steam, pay and download model. No freemium or play and pay. I am not that confident on my game to place it as a demo too =/
I am trying to answer these questions to avoid a shot in the dark. With the answers I can measure how much sales I can get in a title. If I multiply this I can get the total revenue and plan my development cost towards a number. For example: if I do a scrolling shooter the market is more towards buying simple games with low production value than buying high cost production games of this genre. With that in mind, I move towards fast development and not so pricy assets.