• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Best way to deal with movement in platformer

S

saahy

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to GameMaker and just trying to deal with movement (including jumping, move to the left and right and collision) in a platformer game.

There is a lot of tutorials out there which I watched/read almost all of them :))
But cannot find what I looking for!

Currently I just make some movements and collisions using physics in GMS2, because this is the only way I found to handle with Ramps! so my problems are:

1- I just using apply force to make jump, but its not smooth as I want! is there any better way?
2- How can i detect a collision (in physics) is horizontal or vertical? because I want to add wall jump back so I need to know collision with my wall object is horizontal or vertical!

and last question:

Is it better to use Physics for movement and collisions in a platformer or using GML and write everything by myself at all?

Also I have experience in C#, C++, PHP and JS :D

Thanks a lot and have a lovely day

S

saahy

i don't think using physics its a good option, look for heatbeast tutorials, i started watching his videos
Hmm,
For some rolling objects like giant stone balls or similar I think Physics works fine!
But for movement! it seems you right :D its not working as like as I want.
And which HeartBeast tutorials you mean? they have some youtube tutorials and udemy! both?

Thanks a lot :)

R

Rukiri

i don't think using physics its a good option, look for heatbeast tutorials, i started watching his videos