Legacy GM Custom Surface sizes

W

Wild_West

I'm trying to make a Surface that is set to an object's X and Y position and then drawn out from there by however much I need.

And I can't get it to draw at a specific X and Y, only covering the whole screen like in the Tutorial I used.

Code:
Create Event:

execute code:

surface_light = surface_create( view_wview[0], view_hview[0] );

Step Event:

execute code:

if( surface_exists( surface_light ) )
{
   surface_set_target( surface_light );

draw_set_colour( c_ltgray );

draw_rectangle( 0, 0, view_wview[0], view_hview[0], false );

surface_reset_target();
}

Draw Event:

execute code:

{

draw_set_blend_mode( bm_subtract );

draw_surface( surface_light, view_xview[0], view_yview[0] );

draw_set_blend_mode( bm_normal );
}
Anyone know how I can modify this to draw at my object's X and Y? I'm very new to surfaces and I'm not getting how to use them at all

chamaeleon

I'm trying to make a Surface that is set to an object's X and Y position and then drawn out from there by however much I need.

And I can't get it to draw at a specific X and Y, only covering the whole screen like in the Tutorial I used.

Code:
Create Event:

execute code:

surface_light = surface_create( view_wview[0], view_hview[0] );

Step Event:

execute code:

{

surface_reset_target();
}

Draw Event:

execute code:

{

}
Anyone know how I can modify this to draw at my object's X and Y? I'm very new to surfaces and I'm not getting how to use them at all
Use your instance's x and y instead of view_xview[0] and view_yview[0]?

chamaeleon

Not drawn. I can't see it at all where my object is
What happens if you put an else statement with your if statements and add some show_debug_message() statements?
Code:
if (surface_exists(surface_light))
{
    show_debug_message("The surface does exist");
}
else
{
    show_debug_message("The surface does not exist");
}

W

Wild_West