• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker Help! Sprite Animation

C

CleanFF

So I am new with GMS and I am working on some player movement. I have used a premade sprite sheet for a place holder and have used multiple sprites for a walk animation. I did some tinkering around and I was able to get it working properly (ie when the user holds "A" the sprite moves left with a walking animation).

After doing this, I wanted the player object to move around with WASD and look towards the cursor, similar to a twin stick shooter. I was able to figure out how to get the sprite look in the direction of the cursor while moving, however I cannot get the sprite animations to work properly. As of right now, when the player object is not moving, the sprite is idle but looks in the direction of the cursor. When the player object moves, it looks as though that the sprite only goes to the first image in the sprite walk animation.

Can anyone assist me on how I can play the full sprite animation when moving?

Here is the code I've written in the Step Event:

direction = point_direction(x, y, mouse_x, mouse_y);

//Look towards mouse

var playerAngle;
playerAngle = point_direction(mouse_x,mouse_y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y);
var downAngle = (playerAngle > 45) and (playerAngle < 135);
var rightAngle = (playerAngle > 135) and (playerAngle < 225);
var upAngle = (playerAngle > 225) and (playerAngle < 315);
var leftAngle = (playerAngle > 315) or (playerAngle < 45);
look = (downAngle or rightAngle or upAngle or leftAngle)

var up = keyboard_check(ord("W"));
var down = keyboard_check(ord("S"));
var left = keyboard_check(ord("A"));
var right = keyboard_check(ord("D"));