Hazmat Harry + proof of concept DEMO

T

teamrocketboyz

Hello all i have been toying with an idea for a game for a few weeks now and have managed to develop a quick video showing what i have so far (its not much but im quite pleased with it).

The game will be a platform game where you play as a SPONGE and the idea is to clean up the mess created by the villains in the game. touching the paint on the ground also covers your character and takes health from him.

There are no enemies as of yet as im still pretty new to all of this but i will include a video showing what i have so far, theres a few very minor touches that im happy with such as the coins spinning faster when hit by water and the remaining water you haveleft been visible inside the sponge itself. what are your guys thoughts?

the demo is the original idea without the new artwork and its available here:
https://scrapboxgames.itch.io/spongedemo

Edit, new name, new look, introducing Hazmat Harry

Last edited by a moderator:
M

mamacato

I like how the sponge gets paint on it and how the crates swell up and explode. Good work!

T

teamrocketboyz

I like how the sponge gets paint on it and how the crates swell up and explode. Good work!
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I have a slight update on this project.

moveset = left, right, jump, jump and down = ground pound, aim and left mouse button shoots water cannon, right mouse button activates hover (water jetpack)

new features/ improvements

! water from the exploding boxes now does more damage
! coins that spin when shot at now return to the same position and speed as the other spinning coins.
! bouncable plungers have been added to act as springs

currently working on enemies.

T

teamrocketboyz

A slight update. i dont really want to make a new post every time i add something minor but until i get a long time to work on the game im afraid they may just be minor updates.