GML sprite_index

D

dTex

I read the help docs and see that I can assign a different sprite to sprite_index via code. Why is it called sprite_index? When I see index, I think [0], [1]. [2]. But I do not see code/examples moving through an array. Also, I didn't understand "using a variable that has an externally loaded sprite indexed in it". I'm a newbie, haven't coded in about 15 years but enjoying GMS2. Sure beats all those "productivity apps" I did for a living.

F

FuRyvok

There are sprite_index, what means for ex. you made a sprite : sprBall, you make an object and don't give a sprite to it.
now go to the create event and there type:
Code:
sprite_index = "sprBall";
What you mean is the image_index, for ex. you have a sprite with 4 index than you have to add the sprite_index to the code.

Code:
switch(playerState){
case "RUNNING":
sprite_index = "sPlayerRun";
break;
case "IDLE":
sprite_index = "sPlayerIdle";
break;
}

jo-thijs

I read the help docs and see that I can assign a different sprite to sprite_index via code. Why is it called sprite_index? When I see index, I think [0], [1]. [2]. But I do not see code/examples moving through an array. Also, I didn't understand "using a variable that has an externally loaded sprite indexed in it". I'm a newbie, haven't coded in about 15 years but enjoying GMS2. Sure beats all those "productivity apps" I did for a living.
Hi and welcome to the GMC!

This is a good question.

Variables in GameMaker:Studio 2 can only hold values that are either a number, a string, an array, an enum, a boolean or undefined (ignoring pointers, which are only used to support certain extensions).
Variables thus cannot hold sprites as values.
To refer to a sprite, we need some reference that can be encoded in one of the above data types.
GameMaker encodes references to sprites as numbers.
In GM:S, the number 0 refers to the first sprite in the resource tree of the project,