Dynamically create new room from application_surface?

B

bigtunacan

I would like to create a new room where I just capture the application_surface from my existing room into the new room. The idea then is to have a sort of "freeze" effect where I can draw on top of the new room, and then return to the original room with everything as it began.

I'm still relatively new to GM:S and I've read a few articles and help topics, but having a hard time wrapping my head around how to actually do this.

B

bigtunacan

Are you talking about creating a sprite from the application surface? Are you trying to do a menu effect or something?
Yes, that's exactly what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to do a menu that is stored in a separate room that will transition partly or totally over the game.

B

bigtunacan

Ok; so I looked at that documentation and I tried this, but it doesn't draw anything in the new room, I just get a black background.

In the game room that I'm going to transition out of I have this.

Code:
    global.spr_game_capture = sprite_create_from_surface(application_surface, 0, 0, window_get_width(), window_get_height(), false, true, 0, 0);
    room_goto(room_menu_start);
Then in the menu room I have this in the room creation code.
Code:
    layer_background_create("bg_layer_menu_start", global.spr_game_capture);

Simon Gust

Consider this ->
upload_2018-12-14_8-47-38.png

In what event do you have that code written?
Make sure that the surface is copied after everything has been drawn to it in that frame.

B

bigtunacan

Thanks, I wasn't aware of that. Based on that, if I'm understanding it correctly, then It should go in the "Draw end" event. I tried that with the same code I have, but the results are the same.

CMAllen

Without seeing where you're placing your code and what you're doing, it's difficult to say what you're doing wrong.

B

bigtunacan

I have this in my Draw End event in the game room that I'm transitioning out of.

Code: