Asset - Project Full Featured RTS

P

PixHil Entertainment

Hello all,

So far I've been developing features for an RTS (real time strategy) using pure GML with no extensions or tutorials. I believe I'm filling a gap in the GM marketplace as there are bits and pieces but nothing to the extent I wanted. All art, sounds and scripts will be available when it comes time to publish.

A little about me, I'm currently a full-time Software Engineer with a Bachelors of Computer Science and a minor in game development. I love building software and games for other people and believe Game Maker is a great way to express my passion.

So basically, I would like to ask the community what features they would love to see in an ambitious project like this. I have plenty of ideas but I'd rather target the community directly. As GML is a notoriously 'flexible' language prone to being unmaintainable for bigger projects, I've developed a maintainable and reusable set of GML guidelines I'll be following throughout the project to prevent 'spaghetti code' and also break down each section into modules which can be easily extracted for any project, not just the RTS genre.

Thus far, I have completed the following:
  • Finite State Machine
  • Comprehensive Multi-Selection
  • Advanced Path Finding algorithms
  • Basic 'Worker' AI
  • Multiple resources and automated gathering
  • In-depth Fog of War (Different resolutions for better performance)
  • Unit and Building definitions
  • Basic 'flocking' and unit separation algorithms
  • Debugging visuals
In the future:
  • Multiple team definitions
  • Full-functioning Enemy and ally AI
  • Unit way-point paths
  • Multiple units (warrior, archer, mage? priest)
  • Hero Unit (basic RPG elements)
  • Various buildings
  • More maps
  • Detailed Art and animation
  • In-depth setting and map selection
  • Mini-map
In the distant future:
  • Multiplayer
  • Customisable units