GML How to spawn objects from an array

T

tidlon

Hello!

What I want to do is to spawn objects randomly between 5 different spawn points , so what I am trying to do is to add an array to a spawnManager(object) that will take those spawn objects into the array and then randomly spawn an object from one of those spawn points with a timer... but I am kinda new to this.. and I basically have no clue how to make arrays work.. pls help...

the picture above is the spawnmanager(Create)

spawnmanager(Step) above image

the spawn object is on picture above (create)

the spawn object picture above (alarm0)

the actual obj_spawner works fine, it spawns objects with a cooldown, but what I want now is to have 5 of these spawners that will spawn one object every second randomly between these 5 spawners, so basically one of these spawners should spawn 1 object at a time.

in above image the purple squares are spawning from the blue spawn objects on top and going downwards.

thanks in advance! :D

Last edited by a moderator:

Relic

Not sure about drag and drop (not many of us are).

The basic idea is you will want to choose a random spawner when your alarm goes off (an alarm in the controller, not each spawner)

Alarm 0:
  • Choose random integer from 0 through to 4
  • create instance at this spawner (instance_create_layer(index.x,index.y,"spawnedSynths",obj_synthNote_org)
    [*]reset alarm

T

tidlon

Not sure about drag and drop (not many of us are).

The basic idea is you will want to choose a random spawner when your alarm goes off (an alarm in the controller, not each spawner)

Alarm 0:
  • Choose random integer from 0 through to 4
  • create instance at this spawner (instance_create_layer(index.x,index.y,"spawnedSynths",obj_synthNote_org)
    [*]reset alarm
hmm, I am using DnD for a reason.. cause I am kinda new to programming... pretty much I am bad, so how do you want me to create "choose random integer from 0 through 4" ?

Relic