Legacy GM Variable calling problem that I can't understand

M

Mapped

Hello,
I am relatively new to programmation and coding, and GameMaker has been of huge help to start learning and practicing.
I started testing out coding manually, but I've encountered an error that I can't seem to fix and I haven't been able to find the answer to it...
Basically, I started by making this sort of random pattern generator (really basic stuff), that used black and white boxes to generate this QR-code looking thing. Then, I tried to make a colored palette using make_color_hsv. Here's the object used for making the boxes (obj_boxmaker):
Code:
///Creation
for(row=0; row<22; row++)
    {
    instance_create(x,y+(32*row), obj_box);
    var column = 0;
    for(column=0; column<22; column++)
        {
        instance_create(x+(32*column), y+(32*row), obj_box);
        }
    }
And the boxes being colored (obj_box):
Code:
image_blend = make_color_hsv(obj_boxmaker.row*11,255,obj_boxmaker.column*10);
However, whenever I try to call the 'column' variable of the boxmaker, using obj_boxmaker.column, an error pops up and says :
Variable obj_boxmaker.<unknown variable>(100002, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
For some reason, there's an error with that part but not with the 'row' variable. How come?
Thanks for the help.

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
You're declaring your variable in a local (var) context in your creation code. This means that they will be removed from memory after the code block they were declared in ends.

M

Mapped

Is there any way I can declare it so it can be fetched from outside the block? Thanks for your patience

M

Mapped

Remove the var
I did, but the same error happens... They are not in the same object, so should I find a way define the color of the next box in my 'boxmaker' object? Or should I just change the location of "var column"?

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff