• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How long did it take you to become good at GML and Game Maker 2?

D

DankMemes

Just out of curiosity, how long did it take you guys to build full-fledged games without guides.

Kepons

Lost The Bet
I've been using GameMaker for about 6 years and still haven't made a "full-fledged" game. I don't mean to discourage you, though. If you're determined and keen to learn, it's entirely possible to make a game in a much, much shorter period of time.

D

DankMemes

I've been using GameMaker for about 6 years and still haven't made a "full-fledged" game. I don't mean to discourage you, though. If you're determined and keen to learn, it's entirely possible to make a game in a much, much shorter period of time.
Why is that though?
Do you not have any time tto dedicate to it?
Lack of understandung of coding concepts?
Laziniess :p?

Roa

Ive been doing this for something like 14-15 years now. Idk, I've lost track. Not made much of anything playable either. But it only took me about 2-3 years to completely master GML after I caught onto some more basic programing principles.

It took me like three days, lol. GML is super simple. I still look things up on an "as needed" basis, but I had no problem basically jumping into making my game right off the bat.

Kepons

Lost The Bet
Why is that though?
Do you not have any time tto dedicate to it?
Lack of understandung of coding concepts?
Laziniess :p?
Laziness, definitely. Also it's very easy to get stuck in a never ending loop of abandoning projects and making new ones because my code pretty much always becomes a jumbled mess after a certain time and I lack the motivation to continue.

Bearman_18