• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Having a problem with instance_destroy()... please help [SOLVED]

N

Ned Madigan

So heres the deal, I am very new to gml, like very new. I am trying to make a the object destroy when its health is too low. But, when there are multiple of the same object in the room, they will all act as the same thing... they will all be destroyed. Is there a way to make it so only the object affected will be destroyed:
This is in the step event of, obj_enemy.
if healt<0
{
instance_destroy();
}

Soso

your code should only destroy the instance calling it. Can you show the code where you deal damage to this object?

GMWolf

aka fel666
I assume you are using the 'health' variable.
Unfortunately, the health variable is a global variable shared by all instances.

So rather than 'health', try using 'hp' or 'my_health' or whatever.
It doesn't really matter, as long as it's not a built in variable.

N

Ned Madigan

your code should only destroy the instance calling it. Can you show the code where you deal damage to this object?
players code:
if place_meeting(x+2,y, obj_enemy) && sprite_index= spr_hit
{
obj_enemy.sprite_index= spr_enemyhit
}

enemys code:

if sprite_index= spr_enemyhit
{
healt-=1
}

- sprite_index=spr_enemyhit is the animation played when you hit the enemy

CloseRange

did you actually use "healt" or did you mean "health"?
if you are using "health" (with an h) then that's a global variable and is always the same no matter what object calls it.

edit. didn't see your last post.
you say obj_enemy.sprite_index and if I'm not mistaken that will change it for EVERY enemy.
this means every enemy has it's image set to hit and all enemies lose their hp.