• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

I'm a very beginner and need an advice of how to start

S

Sushapel

So, for years I was dreaming about developing my own game dreams into real life.
Recently I got more motivation and became more serious about it.
I'm good at graphics, music and storyline, so I really feel like developing the game itself is the only thing which makes me still far away from actually making it.
I really want to start learning GameMaker, but I don't really know how. I start to watch Shaun's tutorial on youtube, done 3 episodes and everything worked perfectly... But I didn't really understand what am I doing at 80% of it. Also, it's not really the kind of games I want to make. I'm really not sure where should I learn it.
I would be glad to hear professionals' advice, or at least those who experinced learning GameDeveloping from 0. Telling me how sould I work to start getting serious on game developing, can be very very helpful for me.
Huge thanks for helpers

Niels

Keep doing tutorials, after setting up movement and collisions a few times you start to understand the "why". Also don't be afraid to break/experiment with the code you have.

And lastly, read the manual, it's a excelent learning source!

T

Triangle