Discussion What Was Your GML Breakthrough?

T

Thunder Lion

Hey guys I want to know what you learned in Game Maker that completely revolutionised your game making abilities. They have to be self taught without direct reading of the manual (collective information is okay, but no I read XYZ and this helped me).

My personal biggest innovations:
The discovery of variables, I believe I was using a game maker example in game maker 6 and seen how in drag and drop they had been using the var icon. This made me discover tge use of variables which eventually got me into using the gml language as it cleared up things for me.
The discovery of the if statement again from examples I learned how to make conditionals using variables and also how to manipulate values.

These two allowed me to create various systems like inventory, dialogue trees, variable basedevent markers instead of object based.

The step events, when I first started using game maker 6 i had no idea how to keep my character from constantly scrolling in any given direction. One day i see step event and im like hey ill use this and see what it does. I added speed icon with 0 and wala my character stopped moving it was also applied to monsters who i used the no key function to control their motion so when i pressed any key they'd go whatever direction they last went. This wasn't good.

So for me:
Variables and If statements created new possibilities plus helped me get into gml.

Step event provided me new ways to better control things and made me more comfortable with trying new events and actually begin to try to read the manual.

Now only if i had the same drive as i did then, i made so many games but because of the limited internet back then i didnt know how to distribute them and they are long gone.

Rob

I don't think my learning has had any revolutionary moments in it. It's more like slow, steady evolution for me.