• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

I lost my app keystore :(

issam

Hello,
Is there any way to update my app on play store without the keystore?
I have only the picture of the data below!
Please help

Capture.JPG

Last edited:

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
I'm no expert(I really don't know)...but if you put the exact same data and generate a keystore, wouldn't it generally be the same file? Would it not pass the checks?

issam

m no expert(I really don't know)...but if you put the exact same data and generate a keystore, wouldn't it generally be the same file? Would it not pass the checks?
No it will not generate the same keystore, I try it again and again its generate different key, I dont think there is any way to generate the same keystore.

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
That sucks....I guess you live and learn though, gotta have multiple backups. I don't even do anything with Android anymore but I still have my keystore file stored in a few different places. Dropbox is nice, GoogleDrive also helps.

issam

Hello again,
I chat with the help team of google play about my problem, they email me:

Thanks for chatting with Google Play Developer Support.
As we talked on the chat, I need the new upload key which will be used to sign APKs that you upload to Play.
Here’s how to generate and register a new upload key:

1. Follow the instructions in the Android Studio Help Center to generate a new key. It must be different from any previous keys. Alternatively, you can use the following command line to generate a new key:
keytool -genkeypair -alias upload -keyalg RSA -keysize 2048 -validity 9125 -keystore keystore.jks
  • This key must be a 2048 bit RSA key and have 25-year validity.
  1. Export the certificate for that key to PEM format: