• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

I'm going to be a COMPUTER teacher this year...

K12gamer

I'm a little nervous...even though I've been teaching 1st grade for the past 18 years....and a
few other subjects before that.

I'll be teaching Computers for Grades 1 to 6.

I plan to make it fun...and show them a lot of educational games...
Hopefully some of the ones I've seen that were made with GameMaker.

May even try to teach some of the older students how to use GameMaker.

slojanko

As much as I would like to be taught Game Maker in school or learning through games, I feel like the focus could be better prioritized. My primary school Computer class was about basics like what are programs, making a simple webpage with software called Kompozer and using Audacity to quickly edit music. Your education system might be different and by 1-6 grades you might not mean ages betwen 6 and 12.

K12gamer

As much as I would like to be taught Game Maker in school or learning through games, I feel like the focus could be better prioritized. My primary school Computer class was about basics like what are programs, making a simple webpage with software called Kompozer and using Audacity to quickly edit music. Your education system might be different and by 1-6 grades you might not mean ages betwen 6 and 12.
I figure I'll start with...
1) Taking care of the computer...Screen savers, changing backgrounds, what to use to clean the screens etc.
2) How to properly turn the PC off (in Windows) I still see people pushing in the power button to do this :eek:
3) Discuss the various operating systems and web browsers

What other topics do you think I should cover?