• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How can I do apply impulse like movement without physics enabled?

A

anynameyouwish

I am new to game maker and have never really programmed before.

I'm trying to make a spaceship object that doesn't just instantly change direction and speed like using move_towards_point does.

With physics enabled I can use physics_apply_local_impulse for up and phy_rotation for left and right and get the movement I want but from what I have read using physics is probably not a good idea for my game as nothing else I want to do needs physics and I would like to make an warp jump feature later on.

How can I do this without physics? Is there a tutorial somewhere were I could learn this?

I have seen there is a motion_add function but I'm not sure how to use it get the same type of movement. I tried

if speed < 10
{
motion_add(image_index, 0.2);
}

for the up key but then once I reach top speed its impossible to change direction.

Smiechu

You need to use vectors...

First there has to be movement vector... it describes what is the translation of the object every step (if it's [0,0] there is no movement, if it's [1,-5] it moves 1 pixel in x direction and -5 pixels in y direction) ..
Movement vector is modified by adding other vectors to it i.e. acceleration, deceleration, friction, wind, gravity whatever you need...
This is all very basic knowledge from math and phisycs...

If you don't manage to solve it, I can post some code from my game...

A

anynameyouwish