GML Visual [Solved] 'Click to move' pathfinding ?

P

percev4l

Hello !

I am a graphic artist, trying to learn GMS2 for making some little prototypes.
Since I doesn't have any notion in coding, I am starting working with
drag & drop.

I am trying to make my character moving like in a basic point n click, finding the path on any mouse click, avoiding solids and other characters.

But I don't know which actions to use.
For example, I tried to connect the coordinates of my mouse click with the "Star Following Path" action,
but I don't know how to do that, and I have the impression that it is not the good process.

Could someone give me some advices ?

Thanks !

Kyon

CREATE
Code:
xx=x; yy=y;
STEP
Code:
move_towards_point(xx,yy,5); //moves to xx and yy with a speed of 5
if mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left) //if you're clicking with your left mouse button
{
xx=mouse_x;
yy=mouse_y; //update coordinates
}
start with something like this I guess.

I would recommend tutorials on youtube too, they are great.

F

Frozen Stick

I believe there was an action for this kind of behavior...

Well first make an event Mouse - Global Mouse - global left pressed.
in that event drop the action in the move tab named step towards point:

I hope this helps!

rIKmAN

I know you said you are using DnD, but if you wanted to try dipping your toe into actual coding then there is a great tutorial blog with an example project here: https://www.yoyogames.com/blog/459/dynamic-mp-grids

It may seem daunting at first, but you are having to spend time learning DnD which eventually you will want to move away from, so might as well spend that time following this and seeing how you get on.

Feel free to post any question you have if you get stuck while following it, loads more people here will be able to help you with code problems as not many users here seem to use DnD - I personally find it more confusing than coding funnily enough,

CMAllen