• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

How is this code not working? (And crashing my game)

C

CongoBongo

Hi, so i'm fairly new with programming with physics in Game Maker, I used to do simple games with the implemented features and buttons (like 8 years ago) and decided to re-download Game Maker after I got an idea for a game this morning, I didn't check tutorials or anything just used the Game Maker Manual which had all the variable names and stuff I'd use and just put my noob-ish Python knowledge in action to see if I could make a simple side-scrolling physics game.

Basically, you're a submarine underwater in the form of an endless side-scroller with 'gravity', if you go into the depths you lose or if you run into enemies too much (haven't even gone past the players physics), you have a limited amount of boost which you use with Spacebar and slowly replenishes over time, you'd use the Up-Down keys to tilt the sub and then boost to go in that direction, ideally you're like cruising so you have to be fluent and not use up all boost. You can recharge fuel from 'fuel-trails' from other ships or grab fuel bars and avoid mines, etc... with a score timer and a boost 'bar', in theory I know how to code this in terms of logical sense but in terms of semantics and how GM interprets the code I'm lost...