• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Gamedev & Career Choice?

U

Ufy

First of all, I would like to apologize if this is posted in the wrong section.

I've been using Gamemaker Studio 2 for months now, alternating between creating big, unfinished projects and small (but finished) projects. Through the projects that I have created, I have learned quite a lot. However, recently, as I started to get into the more advanced topics, I started to wonder about whether this would make a good career choice, or whether the time that I'm currently spending on working with GMS2 is worth it.

Here's my situation: I'm a young boy who just started high school, and I've had some experience on programming in the past, which made getting into Gamemaker much easier.

My dream job is to either be an Indie GameDev or a Gamedev working for a triple A company. However, my main concerns is that it wouldn't earn me much money as it would if I started that career choice now. I mean, I don't even know whether 2D games will still exist/be popular in the next five years - and that thought always haunts me when I start to seriously delve into complex topics in Gamemaker. I tried to get into Unity, but found it a bit hard to get started, so I reverted back to Gamemaker.