• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Game Frames Per Second question

B

BabyMonkey

Hello,

I'm quite new with Gamemaker 2 and have been learning the program and GML while working on my first project for around half a year now.

When starting my project i had my "Game Frames Per Second" setting set at 60, but during gameplay i noticed some jittering for example when the view rolls around the room. I tried different things to remedy this, until i changed the "Game Frames Per Second" setting to 120 and this seemed to fixed it. (I am using an 60hz monitor and have the synchronization option on.) The game now runs at smooth 60fps on my setup. Then i just moved on with my project...

Now months later i started thinking, did i mess things up by changing the setting up to 120? This is thinking way way ahead, but if someone were to run the game with an 120hz monitor, would the game speed be all messed up? Is there some way i can lock the max FPS at 60, without having to change the frames per second setting back to 60, since this would also mean that i would have to correct every single function that is tied to the game speed.

I hope this is not a really stupid question, but i'd appreciate the help :) Thanks in advance.

RangerX

It should not be dramatic but:

- Someone with a machine having a tuff time running your game at 120fps will get slowdown.
- Anybody with a monitor that is not 120 mhz or more will not benefit from your framerate (60 mhz monitors display 60 images per seconds, not more).
- You stuttering was probably caused by something else and while your solution worked for you, its probably just a coincidence/luck. The real problem probably isn't fixed.

B

BabyMonkey