• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Learning efficient programming.

Z

zchang

Hey everyone. So, I'm new to gamemaker, and also to programming.
I should get out of the way that programming isn't the issue here. I don't have any actual studies on programming other than my experience with softwares like GM and such. However, I don't find [gamemaker's] programming any difficult in general. I always try challenge myself with something I'm not sure I'll be able to program, yet so far I haven't had to retreat.
If this doesn't belong to the programming subforum, I apologize.

Anyways, when there is some mechanic that I can't fully imagine in my head, I of course look for some tutorials or examples. I never follow them exactly nor copy the code, just analyze the approach and use my own.
Is that a bad thing? I have probably close to a thousand hours of code experience, but I have yet to understand how to 'gain' more experience. Should I always try to do this fairly complex mechanic by myself or is looking for some direction okay?

In case I didn't myself very clear, which I believe I didn't: Why I'd like to know overall is, which is a better practice? Spending several minutes designing a good algorithm that will most likely fail (Trying by myself without any idea ), or try to start with some direction (Researching before starting) ?

jo-thijs

I never follow them exactly nor copy the code, just analyze the approach and use my own.
Is that a bad thing?
I would say that is a good thing.