GameMaker Passing code onto a changed or created instance.

S

snowy1996

Hey guys,
I picked up Game Maker Studio 2 about a week ago and I've been enjoying it so far. I'm very very new to making games and I've just been using the drag and drop tools since I'm not entirely up to the more complex side of coding, and so far they've been serving my fine.

I've been slowly building an average RPG battle system, but recently I've come into a problem. Long story short, I have an object built to randomly choose one of several other objects (enemies) so as to decide what appears in the battle room. I'm hoping to possibly pass code from my enemy choosing object onto the chosen enemy object so that I can create a unique variant that will respond to variables set by the object that created it.

Looking at the manual, both the instance_change and instance_create tools both seem capable of modifying their affected instances. However, in my practice I've received various Variable_not_set bugs and the like.

Sorry for the long post, and help is appreciated. I've been trying to work around this by myself for a while now.
I'm still very new to GMS 2, and these forums, so please try to guide me in giving answers to any questions need be asked.

samspade

I'm blanking on the exact instance create function for GMS 2, but essentially you can do this:

Code:
var inst = instance_create_layer(x, y, layer, object);
with (inst) {
    /* change some variables */
}
Note that this will run the code after the instance has been created so you can add variables to that object but you need to be careful. For example. Let's say you code this:

Code:
var inst = instance_create_layer(x, y, layer, obj_enemy);
with (inst) {
    on_fire = true;
}