• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

I'm a beginner at programming, so how do I make enemies react to certain sprites (player attack spr)

D

Dravidion

I'm a beginner at programming, so how do I make enemies react to certain sprites? (player attack sprites) Enemies react to the regular non-attacking character obj/sprite but I only want them to react to the attack sprites.
Please help me by telling me the necessary and explaining what each piece means. Or telling me through drag and drop works. Thank you!

NicoDT

Hello, and welcome.
First of all, as you are new to game maker, I'd recommend you to check all of Shaun's tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/999Greyfox
You will learn a lot (that's where I started from), and will help you come to different solutions you may have.

Now, going back to your question. I would advise you not to check against your player sprite, but create an attack object that will check collision with the enemy and damage it. Here's a tutorial that will explain what you need to know.

Let me know if you have any problem after checking it.
Good luck.

Xer0botXer0

Senpai
Code:
Var react_type = obj_player.image_index;
Switch  (react_type)
{
    case 0:
    {
    //ex: players sword is out.. attack
    }
    case 1:
    {

}
}

Here's a primitive method to achieve what you're taking about

It's probably going to cause you a problem if your player character is animated. Therefore the version of this that supports animation is a bit more complicated so you'd rather use a Boolean instead.

S

SayBaconOneMoreTime

Hello, and welcome.