It's posible in gamemaker this perfect reflection?

S

srchaos

Hi, well... i making a game and trying to create a confortly reflection but i can't do it with eficence, anyone know's if it's posible some like this?
I'm not good at programming.
I need recommendations from people who know more than I do

S

srchaos

I can think of several ways to approach this. What exact issue are you having? If you've attempted anything, post some code.
my issue is... How exactly can make this? i tried with draw_sprite_ext with every single object, the problem of this is, how i can reflect tiles? and if object not exist's on the room, the game crash

M

mochipon

The game crashing when a certain object that is referenced does not exist in the room can be circumvented by adding if object_exists. Perhaps someone else can point out more efficient ways thought?

As for the mirror/reflection... what I'd try to do is make an object for the water line, the point across which everything is mirrored and place it, well, at the water line. Then you can make a script/function called reflection. This script, when executed, would check how far an object is above the water line object and then draw the sprite across on the other side, mirrored of course, perhaps with a bit of alpha added. (afaik there are shaders that can make things wobble, but I haven't looked into these yet)

The only thing left to do would be to find an efficient way to execute the script. Probably the water line object should contain something that cycles through all things and executes the script on them. (Not sure if that would work for tiles)

I'm new myself but whenever I attempt to do something new, I try to first think of a concept of how something could work, then make the foundation or prototype for that in the game, and figure out the details and problems along the way.

M

Multimagyar