Do I use ds_lists? [SOLVED]

Ax209

Hi everyone, looking for some general advice on the route I should take in order to achieve something. Something I've never done before. I wanna learn how but first I need to make sure I'm learning the correct thing. You guys are pros and no doubt know GML better than I.

So! Here's the deal. I'm making a little game and it has a management system involved. In said management system there's an ability to Hire and Fire staff, as well as manage them, train them and get them to work for you. Now, I'm looking for a means to add the staff, and show them in some kind of list in one of the windows. I've had a look at GMS and I *believe* I need to use DS Lists. Would you guys agree that I need to save this data into a list?

If so then yeah I'll go ahead and find some tutorials on that. If not then please advise what would be more appropriate. I've had a look at lists already and there is one thing that sticks out at me, it's the fact that the list is something I need to create, the GML Manual states that lists need to be used appropriately otherwise they can constantly take up data and crash the system with a "memory leak". Okay so I have to handle them properly, I can learn how to do that. But at what point do I need to destroy it? The longer it's in use, the more memory it takes up? Or do I just need to destroy it before I leave and go to another room? Can I only use it for a limited amount of time before it takes up too much memory? If I need to delete it, is there a way of saving my data and loading it back up again when need be?

Any help appreciated peeps! <3

obscene

You may be better using a ds_grid which is a little more spreadsheet-like and supports multiple colums and rows. It sounds like you might need that if you have multiple things to store for each person.

M

Mholmes3038