Design Gambling Game Idea

Hey everyone. I've been using GML for a few years now and am considering making a gambling game. It would involve people paying real money in exchange for in-game currency and then at some later point the player would be able to exchange the in-game currency for real money. Would this be safely possible with the IAP functionality that GML provides? And if so, how? Thanks in advance.

GMWolf

aka fel666
<the EULA quote>
Should have read it yourself first ;)
This coming from playtech? Ha!

Though there are many loopholes to get around that.
You can disguise your gambling, by adding a number of intermediary steps and abstractions and make it so that you cannot exchange the currency for real money, but instead for some paid consumable. (Think Plex in eve online).
You have to be careful though; better get a lawyer!
Though I would say you are better of just contacting YYG, probably purchasing a special license, and getting a gambling license from whatever authorities opress you ^^

Last edited:

NightFrost

Also, gambling is a regulated activity in many places. And at least over here, in case of digital gambling software, there are certain minimum requirements to the randomness of your rng() functionality.

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
and then at some later point the player would be able to exchange the in-game currency for real money.
This feels like a kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinda dangerous step - you need to make sure players can't just hack their game (or your servers) and add lots of in-game currency. Most games that have currency exchange never lets you cash in premium currency back for real money just to avoid exploits like that.

This feels like a kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinda dangerous step - you need to make sure players can't just hack their game (or your servers) and add lots of in-game currency. Most games that have currency exchange never lets you cash in premium currency back for real money just to avoid exploits like that.