Harvest moon/SDvalley is GM a good choice?

K

KingTentacleAU

I want to make a game that's in the same vein/style as harvest moon and stardew valley.

This is one of my all time favorite game types, and sink stupid hours into them.

I am new to game making but do have a basic working knowledge of game design having a small past in late high school working with action script in flash 8 and RPGmaker 2000/2003 so i understand the fundamentals of code design and what i am in for.

But i am looking to see if its a project i can use a "maker" engine for.
The new RPG maker (MV) from what i have seen doesn't handle huge amounts of custom code and lags and bogs down badly when not sticking to the basic engine pregen code.

So i am looking at this, i picked it up on a whim a while back when it was in the humble bundle.
And figured i should see if its something i can use, or if i may need to build my own engine using a basic framework and code like C++ or C#.

The main thing i need to know is if i can make a polished game that run well with this engine.

Thx.

Bingdom

Googledom
The main thing I need to know is if I can make a polished game that run well with this engine.
Of course, you can.
Making a 'polished' game is very time-consuming; especially for testing, gaining feedback and requires lots of skills to create that aesthetic feel.
You won't be able to create a AAA title within your first game, same applies for everything. (You can't be the best athlete on your first run). ;)

It takes practice and dedication. ;)

Game maker is one of the best engines out there for 2D games, and many successful games come out of it

Based on google images, those games you mentioned can easily be re-made in game maker.

RangerX

Perfect choice. GameMaker Studio IS meant and pro at 2D games. The language is simple and powerful. For 2D games I don't think there's a better choice (let alone cheaper!)

K

KingTentacleAU

even something as deep and complex as a harvest moon style game?