How to go about a simple rhythm game/timed inputs system?

Hi! I'm relatively new to working in GMS. I'm trying to create something similar to Mother 3's rhythm combo system, wherein you press a button in time with the beat of a song (here's a video of the combo system in action). I've gotten about as far as having an alarm print to the console at each beat, but I'm not sure how to move forward with tracking the inputs and making sure they're on beat (and adjusting the window around the beat for inputs to be made). Most of the tutorials I've seen for rhythm games are 4K ones that seem to check the position of an arrow sprite, but there's none of that here. I figured it might be possible to check the position of an invisible arrow, but I wonder if there's a more elegant solution that doesn't rely on that if possible. I've also searched around and seen someone say that GMS probably isn't a good engine to make something like this in--is that true? Thanks for your time!

Binsk

First off, don't use alarms for this (as convenient as they are). If the game lags for some reason the music will be off with your alarm triggers because alarms are based off of your frame-rate and audio is based off of real time. For example, you might have a song with 120bpm. Let's say you have your alarm going off every 30 frames in a 60fps game (so twice a second). Should the game lag to 30fps for a beat, that alarm will take an entire second instead of half a second to execute and thus every beat afterwards will be off by half a second.