GML can't figure out this if statement

Hey guys I'm a real beginner when it goes to coding,
so this is pretty difficult for me, and I do need some help.

SO the idea is: that I want to make a panel that when it's clicked that it pops open(goes to the other sprite)
and when clicked again that it becomes small again(goes back to the original sprite)
I've given it a shot in the code below but it does not do what I want it to.

Do any of you legends know how to fix this problem, that would be awesome.
Thanks in advance

GML:
state = 0;

if state == 0 and mouse_check_button_released(mb_left)
    {
    sprite_index = citybarC_spr;
    state = 1;
    }

if state == 1 and mouse_check_button_released(mb_left)
    {
    sprite_index = citybar_spr;
    state = 0;
    }

Last edited:

chamaeleon

Why Yin-Yang if Blocks suck

Besides that, if you are actually setting state to zero before the if statements as written, and it's not set in some other event, you'll of course start of the first if statement always seeing state is zero and only the mouse button test determines whether to execute the code in it.

Your code will execute in a linear fashion, one statement at a time. The next time around the same code runs, the state assignment statement will execute again and set it to zero. There's no "let's just run this code once, and the next time I come across it I know I have already done it". If that is your idea of how it works, you need to start understand the execution of code in a much more literal fashion.

Last edited:

Mr Magnus

Viking King
So, this is a common issue that people forget to think trough: computers do not do what you intend them to do, they do exactly what you tell them to as written.