Setting instances in create event

Hello,
It's my first time posting here, hope you guys can give me a light:

I have a very simple isometric tile editor:
1623359380584.png

My obj_editor's create event has a variable 'brush' that holds an instance of one of the two brushes that I already have implemented:
GML:
brush = obj_toolbox.brush_continuous
I also have a obj_toolbox with variables holding an instance of each brush in it's create event
GML:
brush_continuous = instance_create_depth(0, 0, 0, obj_brush_continuous);
brush_point_n_click = instance_create_depth(0, 0, 0, obj_brush_point_n_click);
The two buttons on the right change what instance of obj_brush1 or obj_brush2 the editor holds:

GML:
handleClick = function() {
    image_index = active;
    obj_editor.brush = obj_toolbox.brush_continuous;
}
The problem is, I'm not sure if creating and seting instances on the create event is the right path. I can't use obj_toolbox in my obj_editor's create event because it says it's not yet set; And most importantly, I'm afraid that with this method, i'll create a bunch of instances of a brush whenever I change between them.

Any tips?

Thanks!

Last edited:

GarbageHaus

Just my 2 cents, but I've gotten in the habit of defining all my variables/constants in the Create event anyways just to avoid the "not set" nonsense. It might be a problem if I get to a large amount of instances at once, but so far so good.

I'm not entirely certain I see where you would create a bunch of brushes. I guess I'm missing some code or I'm just being dumb. You could always just check if you're creating a bunch of instances by adding this in the Create event:
GML:
show_debug_message("Instance created")
Also, it sounds like you might want to make use of instance_exists() in some logical condition if it gives you troubles.

But do you think it's a good practice to do an instance_create in my create event? Like:

obj_house has a door, so in it's create event I do:
GML: