• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED obj.vis = false, having some trouble

M

mitzy

Hello everyone! I'm very new to Gamemaker and GML and I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a problem I am having.

I am trying to make it so that when an obj_Slider1 is left clicked the sprite for obj_Slider1 switches and that a seperate Object named Obj_Moon turns visible/invisible. I have been able to make the Slider switch sprites back and forth when you click but Obj_Moon is only able to be visible and not invisible. My code is below- any help is appreciated. Thank you!

if (sprite_index == spr_Slider1Left)
{
sprite_index = spr_Slider1Right;
obj_Moon.visible = true
}

//Switches sprites, makes obj_Moon invisible
else if (sprite_index == spr_Slider1Right)
{
sprite_index = spr_Slider1Left;
obj_Moon.visible = false
}

Mk.2

Are you sure there's no code in obj_Moon using the visible variable? Or any other objects referencing it?

M

mitzy

I've had a look thru the other objects and sadly obj_Slider1, the one using it, is the only one referencing it :(

Skull00

Maybe try to set the visibility from obj_Moon in the object itself, by checking the sprite_index of obj_Slider1:

GML:
// obj_Moon STEP EVENT
visible = true;
if (obj_Slider1.sprite_index == spr_Slider1Left)
    visible = false;

C

CruelBus

Disregard the following with my apologies:

If you apply visibility to an object, any instances of that object that are created AFTERWARDS will follow that visibility.

You need to be changing the visibility of the instance of obj_Moon that is in the room.

End disregard.

Last edited by a moderator:

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff