SOLVED Struggling With Calling Scripts/Functions

O

Optimistic Ori

Hi, I'm new to working with scripts, as I've been mainly watching tutorials when doing something I don't know how to do, and I have come across a problem that is driving me mad.

All I have seen people say to do is to basically put all the code and wrap it in a function. I understand that part, not too difficult, just a little copy and paste.
But what I don't get is how to call it. Everytime I try to call the function like I've seen people do, I get this:

And I don't get why it does this! It feels like I'm doing everything right, and it's just giving me a middle finger.
The code I place in the function works when I just run it in the Step event, but not when I try to call the function while it's in a script.

Last edited by a moderator:

Zephni

In my case I am using the 2.3 style function scripts but it seems the object create event is still happening before the script's function definition is available? Is that possible?

samspade

Hi, I'm new to working with scripts, as I've been mainly watching tutorials when doing something I don't know how to do, and I have come across a problem that is driving me mad.

All I have seen people say to do is to basically put all the code and wrap it in a function. I understand that part, not too difficult, just a little copy and paste.
But what I don't get is how to call it. Everytime I try to call the function like I've seen people do, I get this:

And I don't get why it does this! It feels like I'm doing everything right, and it's just giving me a middle finger.
The code I place in the function works when I just run it in the Step event, but not when I try to call the function while it's in a script.
Can someone tell me what it is I'm doing wrong? If the code I'm using needs to be seen, I'll share it.
We would need to see how and where you are declaring your function. You should post the entire functions code and where it is located.