• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

[SOLVED] Audio not playing in Breakthrough tutorial Game (please help)

P

projectarcus1

Hello, I'm relatively new to game development and Game maker studio 2. I was recently following the tutorial of FriendlyCosmonaut for the game called "Breakthrough" in GML.

I got my sound assets from downloading it from the tutorial. The game should play a sound when a collision is detected or when an object is created using this function "audio_play_sound(soundid, priority, loops )." For some reason, my sound won't play and it really frustrates me.

Even a past tutorial game that I followed instructions (that I admittedly have not touched in a long time) such as Space Rocks from FriendlyCosmonaut, has its sound not working all of a sudden.

My "Default Audio Device" is at the right settings, and I tried using .Wav or .Ogg with very little success. Running the game won't play sound, as well as making an executable of it.

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
Hello! Did you resolve this issue? My first suggestion would have been to check the Audio Device settings, but you've done that, so I'm not sure what else to say... Have you been able to share the project with other people and see if the sounds play for them? If they don't then you know it's an issue with the project, if they do then you know it's an issue with your PC (or specifically GameMaker on your PC).

P

projectarcus1