How to decompile a buffer? (It's possible??)

FoxyOfJungle

Kazan Games
When it comes to security issues, there are certain things that we need to know how to avoid or know if it is possible. There is a function called buffer_save(), however, is it possible to "decompile" this buffer saved in a text file?, somewhere else without using GMS 2 (the buffer_read() function)?

Saved buffer using buffer_save() example:

xœe]
ƒ0„¯|.’ø—l/#j·š0‰âÝEÛ}›ÙùfÙ™Dm¥±1FO2Õ”‘½
*McúØû‘J•¶3Æáö¾waÏ(£üˆtX)×Ôá(9¢½{Kmt})Háý§î¸^{¥ÐÙ³ ÄÈ‚“}k÷7F£¼ÆRûUÓ8Iá6”‹œeB@^0–Pö8 ûž6âÈ
N!L0d¢ Y¾då^l

For example, GMS can encode a string in base64, and there are several sites that can read the converted code, is this possible with buffers? There are programs like Notepad++ that can for example read parts of a binary code, but I am not very experienced with these types of encryptions...

I would like to know this, because if a player knows how to do this, he can modify the file, although I can also include a verification hash at the end of the file, however, it never hurts to know...

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
There's no transformation going on, those are the exact bytes in the buffer being written.

Due to null bytes and issues involving various encoding standards, using text editors to read binary files is generally a bad idea. Use a hex editor instead.

If you have a hex editor, you can read and edit the buffer with no issue. There's zero encryption happening. Hashing your whole file isn't a great idea, since it's pretty easy to tell what algorithm is being used and they can just rehash the file with whatever edits they want.

Evanski

Raccoon Lord
Forum Staff
If you have a hex editor, you can read and edit the buffer with no issue. There's zero encryption happening. Hashing your whole file isn't a great idea, since it's pretty easy to tell what algorithm is being used and they can just rehash the file with whatever edits they want.
That being said tho, having the buffer be converted to UTF-8
GML: