Left Down and Left Pressed Events are not working

T

thegabba

Hi guys, sorry for the noob question but I'm new to GameMaker. As I say in the title, my left down and left pressed event do not work. I've read the official documentation and I've seen several tutorials online but when I 'click' an object in my game nothing happens (I'm trying to do some simple actions like "draw text" or "debug message" to test it as you can see in the screenshot attached).
Thank you

Attachments

FoxyOfJungle

Kazan Games
To draw the text, use it in the "Draw Event".
Change the mouse event to "Global Mouse Pressed", not "Left Pressed" << Because this function checks for the collision on the object, not the global click of the mouse.

T

thegabba

Hi Foxy, thanks for the answer. I need to use Left Pressed (or Down) because want the game to do stuff only when I click on my object.

TheouAegis

Then you need to have your left pressed and left down events set a variable and then in the draw event check if that variable is set so you can do the drawing inside the draw event properly. Alternatively, instead of using the mouse events, you can check the state of the mouse inside the draw event using the appropriate actions (or Test Expression).

In any case, you should be seeing that debug message somewhere within the output window.

T

thegabba

Then you need to have your left pressed and left down events set a variable and then in the draw event check if that variable is set so you can do the drawing inside the draw event properly. Alternatively, instead of using the mouse events, you can check the state of the mouse inside the draw event using the appropriate actions (or Test Expression).

In any case, you should be seeing that debug message somewhere within the output window.
Hi TheouAegis, thanks for the reply. The problem is that even if I set a variable as a consequence to my Left Pressed (or Down), this variable does not change. It's like the event does not work at all...

TheouAegis