• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Distribution Questions ~ Good Practices for Playable Demos

• Thread starter ZettianJuggernaut
  • Start date
Z

ZettianJuggernaut

Let me give a little of who I am and where I'm at, then I'll get to my questions.

I'm a hobby game designer with one published mobile game, but life catch up to me a couple of years ago, so I had to put all of my other games on the back burner. But as of recently I've decided I want to get back into the game industry, but this time a little more reasonable (mainly aiming for a QA job). I've been working on my resume and portfolio website, but I'm hoping to make splash with putting one of my unfinished games (I'm going to refer to as RH) reworked as a playable demo up on my site.

Which leads to my questions, is there a better format for that? Is it better as a window executable or HTML5? What kind of restraints does HTML5 have? Everything in RH is designed for mobile, on- screen clickable, smaller screen sizes, ect.

The main reason for me asking here, is I don't own either the Desktop and HTML5 Licenses for GameMaker, and I've been eyeing the idea of HTML5, but I don't want to find out I can't do anything I want with it. Also just looking for insight from other people who have created demos before.

Hopefully I've made my questions clear enough, and thanks you in advance.

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
but I'm hoping to make splash with putting one of my unfinished games