Icarus - (Working title) - a shoot-em-up idea I started a few days ago!

Japster

Hi guys! - Well, after being kindly pointed towards @Pixelated_Pope 's FANTASTIC pixel perfect collision blog and project, I thought I'd give an old-skool side scrolling shoot-em-up a go!

I'm a slow coder, but I'm pleased with how much progress I've managed to make in 4-5 days coding, mainly due as usual to massively helpful info from the wonderful peeps on here, but I've had great fun so far in figuring out ways of overcoming removed features (like tile layer alpha blending etc) :D

Thanks also to 'Messhof' for his excellent InputDog extension - by far the easiest I've ever added joypad support, thanks!

It's a shooter with nods (ultimately) to several of my old-skool 8 / 16 bit favourites! - Scramble, R-Type, Gravitar (rescuing spacemen etc), secret areas, optional bosses and boss only modes, sublevel warps, etc all to be added...

Will also have loads of achievements for doing stuff like blowing up all fuel on a level, killing all enemies, finding secrets, 1-credit completions, levels done without losing a life, etc... :)

Short demo here! - Icarus Playable Features Test!

Icarus_Title.PNG

Icarus_5.PNG

Icarus_2.PNG

Icarus_Scanlines.png

Controls are Joypad or Cursor keys - Keys are:-

"Z" =Fire Shot/Missile (5 max at once)
"X" =Launch Bomb (2 max at once)
"C" or Left Shoulder Button = Speed DOWN (minimum 1)
"V" or Right Shoulder Button = Speed UP (maximum 5)

"ESC" =Restart level.
"M" =Toggle example music track.

...Bear in mind that the graphics are mostly placeholders, and that the test level is currently RAMMED with stuff to test out features (like different enemies, hidden areas, etc)... ...so it's a bit busy!... :D ....The end game will be more manageable! :D