Need help for spawning bullets in specific locations!

C

Coffeli

(Keep in mind i am very very new to gml and coding)

So im trying to make a bullet hell but dulled down, very simple few bullets on screen.

But im having alot of trouble using the create_instance_layer, it doesnt show up for me
I even tried adding a draw event to draw self incase that messed up

heres my code

oBullet create event:
instance_create_layer(1290, 400, "Bullet", oBullet);

draw event:
draw_self();

Joe Ellis

Maybe try using instance_create_depth for now, and just put 0 for the depth. This is basically the old way of making an instance. Layers are useful, but make it more complicated aswell.

Or learn how layers work. I don't know how they work exactly though. I'm new to gms 2, I have a lot of experience with gml, but I only recently got gms2(.3)

C

Coffeli

Maybe try using instance_create_depth for now, and just put 0 for the depth. This is basically the old way of making an instance. Layers are useful, but make it more complicated aswell.

Or learn how layers work. I don't know how they work exactly though. I'm new to gms 2, I have a lot of experience with gml, but I only recently got gms2(.3)
instance_create_depth(1290, 400, 0, oBullet);

I still cant see the object showing up when i run it, when i use instance_create_depth does it have a set size by default maybe that could be a reason?

Joe Ellis

I don't know, sorry, have you got any other projects where the instances do show up? Or a tutorial project? You might have adjusted some setting somewhere that's messed it up. Also the coordinates seem dodgey, 1290, 400. Is 1290 within the view region?

C

Coffeli

I don't know, sorry, have you got any other projects where the instances do show up? Or a tutorial project? You might have adjusted some setting somewhere that's messed it up. Also the coordinates seem dodgey, 1290, 400. Is 1290 within the view region?