GMC Jam Discussion The Tropical GMC Jam 38 Discussion Topic

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Red Phantom

Unless I've made a mistake, I'm pretty sure,

THREE WISHES GIVEN

is still a possible contender. Actually I'm kind of hoping that for my first jam this is the theme. Still I have my doubts due to

THREE MINUTE TIMER

being such an accessible theme.

HayManMarc

Ah I see! So the theme of the jam is not related at all to "tropical" right? Instead the entire theme is based upon those three words (with missing letters)?

(I'm new to this, if you can guess 😝)
Yes. It's just always been tradition to use wacky adjectives in the titles for the jams. Haha
Bonus points if your game includes a tropical theme, too. (Unofficially, of course.)

Alice

Darts addict
Forum Staff
THREE MINUTE TIMER seems like one of the stronger guesses, and it might fit with one of @JacobV previous entries: https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.p...ental-gmc-jam-3-games-topic.18172/post-116421
(don't know if timer there was exactly three minute, but it felt like that)

Though thinking more about it, instead of THREE MINUTE TIMER (which might or might not be the actual theme), I'd much prefer "TIME LIMIT" or "LIMITED TIME" or something.
Having it specifically three-minutes restricts pacing a lot. So I hope it's not THREE MINUTE TIMER, because having the limited-time mechanic is one thing, but restricted pacing is a big trouble, and really hard to adjust the game to (unless three minutes are not actually three minutes).
And as ghandpivot pointed out, since we're likely to play a given entry at least a few times, we end up with longer playtimes because of the time restriction.

So yeah, hopefully it's something like THREE WISHES GIVEN or THREE SIMPLE RULES or something else, as long as it's not THREE M'LADY DUDES*.
(even if wishes given are quite specific, while simple rules are quite vague; are we doing Newton's Laws of Motion again? 🤔)