SOLVED Direction-Sprite Change

E

EnSea

Basically, I just need some basic coding help.
I can't figure out how to change the sprite based on what direction the enemy is facing.
Side Notes: This is an RPG Dungeon-like game, the coding i need is basic and no overly complicated as I'm fairly new at this.

This is my enemy code:
GML:
if distance_to_object(player)<=Screen{   
      if (collision_line(x,y,player.x,player.y,block,true,true) = noone) {
           direction=point_direction(x,y,player.x,player.y);
           speed = 1;
    }
}

B

Beb the Coder

How do you want to change the Sprite? Do you want it to look in 4 directions, or in 8 or anything else?

Joe Ellis

If you want to have separate sprites for each direction like Beb the Coder was saying, this should work:
GML:
sprite_index = spr_player_0_degrees + floor((direction / 360) * 8)
It just divides the angle by 8 and rounds it down, then if you have the sprites in anti clockwise order in the resource tree it simply adds on to the base 0 degrees one

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
If you want to have separate sprites for each direction like Beb the Coder was saying, this should work:
GML:
sprite_index = spr_player_0_degrees + floor((direction / 360) * 8)
It just divides the angle by 8 and rounds it down, then if you have the sprites in anti clockwise order in the resource tree it simply adds on to the base 0 degrees one
This will stop working in 2.3, so I'd not recommend using it. Group the spritesets together using a ds_map or something instead (this also allows you to reuse the same sprite if they're the same for some directions by entering the same ID for multiple directions)

Joe Ellis

This will stop working in 2.3, so I'd not recommend using it. Group the spritesets together using a ds_map or something instead (this also allows you to reuse the same sprite if they're the same for some directions by entering the same ID for multiple directions)