SOLVED Loading a surface texture into a shader

O

OscarGrouch

Hi All, I'm pretty new to shaders, and relatively new to coding (this is my first game) so this may be really simple to solve.

Basically, I'm making a top down space combat game (think asteroids type movement), where one of the ships can produce a "Gravity Wave". I want this effect to be emitted from the front of the ship and push other objects away from it. I want the effect to be visible as a distortion to the background as if the waves are bending light as it passes through and the waves to propagate outwards from the ship, like ripples from a stone dropped in a pond, but only visible within the area of a cone projected from the front of the ship.

I found a nice magnification glass shader online somewhere which I have modified to give the effect I want, but this shader creates an entire circle centred on the ship, instead of the cone from the front that I want.

What I would like to do, is use the texture data of the surface created by the magnifying glass shader, and map that onto a cone shaped sprite that sticks out the front of the ship. I'd also like to modify the intensity of the effect by the alpha value of the cone sprite, but that's something for later.

The ship rotates onscreen, and so the gravity wave cone does too, but as long as I can map just the section of the magnifying effect that is in the same relative position as the cone sprite it should work ok.

The problem I'm having is that the magnifying shader that I found online, simply draws a section of the application surface using the shader which produces the magnifying effect. What I want to do is take this finished effect and then manipulate it more within a shader to produce the effect I want (mapping it onto the cone) but I don't know how to do that.

The code for producing the gravity waves follows.... most of it I didn't write myself - I've just modified it to produce propagating waves.

In the gravity cone object...