How Not to Respond to Someone Learning

D

DayCamp

Is it just me, or is the first impulse everyone has when you ask a question on any community forum to be condescending and rude? I am very new to GameMaker and making games in general, therefore discouragement comes easy when someone of much greater experience responds with nothing more than "read the manual" or sums up your overall worth in a matter of a few keystrokes. It is my assumption that if someone has put in enough effort to make a well thought out posting related to any aspect of Gamemaker, surely they have ALREADY read at least SOME of the manual, if not all of it. Sadly, I am not a computer, nor is anyone else, therefore my rate of retention for new information is still growing.

Does everyone here respond to inquiries like a jerk, or is it something that just happens from time to time and mostly everyone is sensible?

Mercerenies

Do you mind if I ask what bad experience you've had here? I see one topic you've made, which was efficiently handled by FrostyCat, and I don't see any ill will or mistreatment happening there. You asked a question. He told you not just the answer but how a programmer should approach the problem. Teach a man to fish and whatnot. It doesn't strike me as condescending, simply educational.

D

DayCamp

Teach a man to fish and whatnot. It doesn't strike me as condescending, simply educational.

D

DayCamp

The assumption is that I didn't do those things. I DID. I wanted a human person to write it in there own words without then telling me I skipped a step and then to read the manual. Google can give me that answer. I don't need to be told to read the manual. But πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ’© it. He's right and I'm wrong. yeah yeah eayh