SOLVED How do I make a hurt indicator pop up on screen?

Ham

I'm new to GMS2 and I'm making a platformer. There are spikes in the game, to tell the player they've been hit, I added a sound effect, but I also want the screen to shine red for a split second when the player touches the spike. I've tried using:

if(place_meeting(x,y,oSpike)) or (place_meeting(x,y,oSmallSpike)){
audio_play_sound(sndHurt, 1, false);
instance_create_layer(0,0,"Spawner",oHurt);
instance_destroy();
alarm[0] = 1 * room_speed;
instance_destroy(oHurt);
instance_create_layer(oSpawner.x,oSpawner.y,"Player",oPlayer);
}

oHurt being a red screen. I also set oHurt's image_alpha to 0.3. But it just doesn't work.

Um, why are you destroying the player object and trying to recreate it? (EDIT: I see why, Slyddar is right, you could probably just move the player instead of destroying and recreating) If you want the screen to flash red, a simpler method is to just draw a red rectangle over the screen, something like this:
Create Event:
Code:
red_alpha = 0;
Step Event:
Code:
if (red_alpha > 0) {
   red_alpha -= 0.25; // Changing 0.25 here will effect how fast the red fades, a higher number is a quicker fade
}
else {
   red_alpha = 0;
}
    x = oSpawner.x;
    y = oSpawner.y;
    if (red_alpha == 0) {
       red_alpha = 1;
   }
}
Draw GUI Event:
Code:
if (red_alpha > 0) {
   var x1 = 0;
   var y1 = 0;
   var x2 = display_get_gui_width();
   var y2 = display_get_gui_height();
   draw_set_alpha(red_alpha);
   draw_rectangle(x1,y1,x2,y2,false);
   draw_set_alpha(1);
}

Slyddar

If you want to show it, you need to not destroy it 3 lines after creating it. Also you don't have to destroy the player when they die, you can just set their x/y to your spawner location. You're also setting an alarm[0] of an object you just destroyed the line before, so it will never run.

Reactions: Ham

Ham